Steel, Chapman & Hutchinson Ltd.
Engineers and Builders of Working Model Sailing Ships
Home Monthly Update Company Info Ships Available About Our Kits Contact/Purchase Link Resources
Web LinksBooks

Brig being commissioned
Brig being commissioned for launch

HMS Surprise
HMS Surprise

Sailing on board the frigate
Sailing on board the frigate


Brig being commissioned
Detail of carronade


Brig being commissioned
Detail of captain and stove


   Remaining stock and maritime library
   now for sale

    The full maritime library can be viewed here

    To purchase any of the remaining books click here


  • "An Introduction to Radio Controlled Scale Sailing Models"

    (in The Modeller's World Series) by Phillip Vaughan Williams, published by Traplet Publications.
    "This book is the first that I have ever seen that deals with the subject. I find it clearly written, well illustrated and quite complete. The energy required to research all the far flung sources and to write this book must have been immense, and despite it being an affordable paperback, its quality and uniqueness in covering this subject makes it a classic in my library. As a disinterested third party I recommend it without reservation; absolutely everyone attracted to this field should read it."
    Philip Roberts, owner of Steel, Chapman & Hutchinson Ltd.

    For further information about this book, please contact the addresses below:

  • Traplet Publications Ltd. 

  • Traplet house, Severn Drive, Upton-upon-Severn, Worcestershire, WH8 OJL.
    Tel: +44 (0) 1684 594505 Fax: +44 (0) 1684 594586
    Email: Website:


  • Traplet Distribution USA Ltd. 

  • 3103 Tatman Court, Suite 105, Urbana, IL 61802 USA
    Phone: (217) 328-4444 Fax: (217) 328-24500
    Email: Website:

    Other resources
    Authors and their novels (in English) about ships of this period
  • The Nautical Fiction list
    806 authors and 2190 titles!
  • Patrick O'Brian: the Aubrey/Maturin series
    Master and Commander, Post Captain, HMS Surprise, The Mauritius Campaign, Desolation Island, The Fortune of War, The Surgeon's Mate, The Mission, Treason's Harbor, The Far Side of the World, The Reverse of the Medal, The Letter of the Marque, The Thirteen Gun Salute, The Nutmeg Consolation, The Truelove, The Wine-dark Sea, The Commodore, The Yellow Admiral.
  • CS Forester: The Hornblower series
    Mr Midshipman Hornblower, Lieutenant Hornblower, Hornblower and the Hotspur, Hornblower and the Atropos, Beat to Quarters, Ship of the Line, Flying Colours, Commodore Hornblower, Lord Hornblower, Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies, Hornblower during the Crisis.
  • Frederick Marryat
    A contemporary British naval captain
    Mr Midshipman Easy.
  • James L. Nelson: Revolution (the American one) at Sea
    By Force of Arms, The Maddest Idea, The Continental Risque, Lords of the Ocean, All the Brave Fellows.
    The Brethren of the Coast series: The Guardship, the Blackbirders
  • Richard Woodman: Nathaniel Drinkwater series
    Based on the career of this real-life British naval officer: An Eye of the Fleet, A King's Cutter, A Brig of War, The Bomb Vessel, The Corvette, 1805, Baltic Mission In Distant Waters, A Private Revenge, Under False Colours, The Flying Squadron, Beneath the Aurora.
  • Alexander Kent: Richard Bolitho series
    Richard Bolitho Midshipman, Midshipman and the Avenger, Stand into Danger, In Gallant Company, Sloop of War, To Glory We Steer, Command a King's Ship, Passage to Mutiny, With all Despatch (Dispatch), Form Line of Battle!, Enemy in Sight, The Flag Captain, Signal, Close Action!, The Inshore Squadron, A Tradition of Victory, Success to the Brave, Colours Aloft, Honour this Day, The Only Victor, Beyond the Reef, The Darkening Sea, For My Country's Freedom, Cross of St George's.
  • Dewey Lambdin: Alan Lewie series
    The King's Coat, The French Admiral, The King's Commission, The King's Privateer, The Gun Ketch, HMS Cockerel, The King's Commander.
  • David Donachie, aka Tom Connery
    D. Donachie: Scent of Betrayal, Hanging Matter, Game of Bones, Dying Trade, The Devil's Own Luck, An Element of Chance.
    T. Connery: Honour Redeemed, A Shred of Honour, Honour be Damned.
  • Dudley Pope: Ramage series
    Ramage, Ramage and the Drumbeat, Ramage and the Freebooters, Governor Ramage RN, Ramage's Prize, Ramage and the Guillotine, Ramage's Diamond, Ramage's Mutiny, Ramage and the Rebels, The Ramage Touch, Ramage's Signal, Ramage and the Renegades, Ramage's Devil, Ramage's Trial, Ramage's Challenge, Ramage at Trafalgar, Ramage and the Saracens, Ramage and the Dido.
  • Adam Hardy: George Albercrombie series 
    The Press Gang, Prize Money, Savage Siege, Treasure Map (Treasure), Sailor's Blood (Powder Monkey), Sea of Gold (Blood for Breakfast), Court Martial, Battle Smoke, Cup and Thrust, Boarders Away, The Fireship, Blood Beach, Sea Flame, Close Quarters.
  • Porter Hill: Adam Horne series
    about the East India Co. (1760s): The Bombay Marines, China Flyer, The War Chest.
  • Kenneth Maynard: Mathew Lamb series
    Lieutenant Lamb, First Lieutenant, Lamb in Command.
  • Ellis K. Meacham: Percival Merewether series
    (East India Co.): The East Indiamen, On the Company's Service, For King and Company.
  • C Northcote Parkinson: Richard Delancey series
    The Guernseyman, Devil to Play, The Fireship, Touch and Go, So Near So Far (Near and Far), Dead Reckoning.
  • Dan Parkinson
    The Fox and the Faith, The Fox and the Fury, The Fox and the Flag, The Fox and the Fortune.
  • Julian Stockwin: The Thomas Kydd series
    Kydd, Artemis, Seaflower, Mutiny, Quarterdeck, Tenacious, Command, Admiral´s Daughter.
  • Showell Styles: Misdshipman Quinn series
    Midshipman Quinn, Quinn and the Fury, Midshipman Quinn and Denise the Spy, The Flying Ensign, Midshipman Quinn Wins Through.
  • Victor Suthren: The Paul Gallant series
    The Black Cockade, A King's Ransom, In Perilous Seas.
  • Victor Suthren: The Edward Mainwaring series
    Royal Yankee, The Golden Galleon, Admiral of Fear, Captain Monsoon.
  • Jon Williams: Privateers and Gentleman series
    The Privateer, The Yankee, The Raider, The Macedonian, Cat Island.
  • Michael Aye: The Fighting Anthonys
    The Reaper, HMS Seawolf, Barracuda.
  • J E Fender: Geoffrey Frost series
    The Private Revolution of Geoffrey Frost, Our Lives our Fortunes, Audacity Privateer out of Portsmouth, The Lucifer Cypher, On the Spur of Speed.
  • Joseph O´Steen: The Nathan Beauchamp series
    Falcon´s Revenge, Pursuit of Honor.


back to top

web links | books